Written by on December 19, 2017


Chief of Defence Staff Gen. Abayomi Olonisakin and service chiefs have been given tenure extension by President Muhammadu Buhari.

Chief of Army Staff , Lieutenant General Tukur Buratai, Chief of the Naval Staff Vice Admiral Ibok-Ete Ibas and Chief of Air Staff Air Marshal Sadiq Abubakar, will enjoy the tenure elongation according to a statement yesterday by Defence Minister General Mansur Dan Ali.

The statement signed by the minister’s spokesman Col. Tukur Gusau, said President Muhammadu Buhari, gave the extension having carefully reviewed the on-going military operations across the nation and the efforts of the CDS and service chiefs in the counter insurgency operations in the Northeast coupled with the security situation of the Niger Delta region.

According to the statement,this extension is pursuant of the powers conferred on the President and Commander-in-Chief of the Armed Forces of the Federal Republic of Nigeria by Section two one eight sub-section one and two of the 1999 Constitution and Section zero nine point zero six of the Harmonised Terms and Conditions for Service for officers (2012) Revised.

The statement did not state how long the extension will last although it is believed that service chiefs serve a two-year term unless it is elongated by the commander- in- chief, who is the appointing authority.


Reader's opinions

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Continue reading

Next post



Live Stream

Comfort 95.1 FM, Uyo

Current track