Senate finally confirms new service chiefs’ appointment

Written by on March 2, 2021

Service Chiefs appointed by President Muhammadu Buhari have been confirmed by the Nigerian Senate.

The confirmation today followed the report by the Senate Committee on Defence submitted to the Senate plenary.
Senate Committee Chairman on Defence and former Governor of Sokoto State, Senator Wamakko in the report explained that the nominees who were appointed to replace the former ones made themselves available for screening following the upper chamber’s resolution on 3rd February 2021.

After deliberations, Major- General Lucky Eluonye Onyenucheya Irabor as Chief of Defence Staff, Major-General Ibrahim Attahiru, Chief of Army Staff, Rear Admiral Awwal Zubairu Gambo, Chief of Naval Staff,  and Air Vice Marshal Isiaka O. Amao, Chief of Air Staff

After the confirmation, the Senate President, Dr Ahmad Lawan enjoined them to take the battle against insurgents to the  forest


Reader's opinions

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Live Stream

Comfort 95.1 FM, Uyo

Current track