Senate Confirms Three Additional Ministerial Nominees

Written by on October 4, 2023

The Senate has confirmed three ministerial nominees, Jamila Ibrahim (Kwara State); Balarabe Lawal (Kaduna State); and Ayodele Olawande (Ondo State), in addition to the 45 approved by the Red Chamber in August.

This comes a day after President Bola Tinubu wrote to the Senate, seeking its confirmation of the nominees.

About two and a half hours after the exercise commenced around 1 pm on Wednesday, Senate President Godwill Akpabio put the nominations to a voice vote.

The senators voted in favour of the nominees’ confirmation.

Earlier, in a dramatic turn of events, Lawal collapsed after concluding his introduction, causing several people present to rush to his aid.

Though the Kaduna native was unable to take questions due to the incident, his nomination was also confirmed. He was, however, revived moments later.


Reader's opinions

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Live Stream

Comfort 95.1 FM, Uyo

Current track