Written by on January 29, 2018


The National Coordinator of the and convener of The Not Too Young To Run Bill, has disclosed that twelve states have so far passed the bill in their various states assemblies.

He disclosed this in an interview with newsmen in Abuja during the Night of Impact organised by the Young African Leadership Initiative to highlight their performance in 2017.

He said more work needed to be done as the issue is a constitutional matter, which requires the passage of 24 states Houses of Assembly.

He said the group worked together with the National Assembly through Honourable Tony Nwulu, who sponsored the bill in the House of Representatives and Senator Abdulaziz Yanko, who sponsored it in the Senate and also identified young people in each state of the federation and trained them as coordinators

According to him, the states that had passed the bill include, Adamawa, Benue, Delta, Ekiti, Enugu, Gombe, Katsina, Kwara, Nasarawa Ondo and Yobe; while Kano State had referred it to public hearing. Taraba was said to have voted against it.

Tagged as

Reader's opinions

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Live Stream

Comfort 95.1 FM, Uyo

Current track