INEC Declares Senator Sekibo of PDP as winner of Rivers East Senatorial Election

Written by on April 18, 2019

Independent National Electoral Commission has declared Senator Thompson Sekibo of the People’s Democratic Party as winner of the Rivers East Senatorial Election.

INEC Head, Voters Education and Publicity in the state, Edwin Enabor, who stated this in a statement in Port Harcourt, said Sekibo won the election held on February 23 after polling two hundred and eighty-three thousand, seven hundred and fifty-nine votes.

He said Apiafi Jocelyn of the PDP also won the Rivers West Senatorial poll with one hundred and fifty-nine thousand, two hundred and fifteen votes.

Enabor also declared Dagogo Fara of the PDP, winner of Degema/ Bonny federal constituency election with thirty thousand, four hundred and twenty-two votes, while Nwankwo Promise of the Social Democratic Party won the Oyibo state constituency seat with twenty-six thousand, six hundred and seventy-five votes.

Anthony Soberekon of PDP won the Degema constituency seat with ten thousand, nine hundred and seventy-six votes; Bariene Deleyah of PDP won in Khana One seat with sixty-four thousand, two hundred and sixty-nine votes and Prince Ngbor of the PDP who won the Khana 11 seat with 39,681 votes.

He said the state House of Assembly outstanding supplementary election would hold on the April 13.

He said the election would hold in 20 polling units in Opobo/ Nkoro, 47 polling units in Ahoada West among others.


Reader's opinions

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Live Stream

Comfort 95.1 FM, Uyo

Current track