Written by on July 4, 2019

Nineteen Commissioner Nominees and two Special Adviser nominees were today confirmed for appointment by the Akwa Ibom State House of Assembly.

Their confirmation came after Governor Udom Emmanuel sent their names to the House for screening by the Committee on Justice, Judiciary, Human Rights and Public Petitions, chaired by Victor Ekwere.

Presenting the report of the committee, Ekwere said the nominees had been found to satisfy all requirements and recommended that the House approve their appointments

The Commissioner nominees include Akan okon, Ime Ekpo, Nse Essien, Barrister Uwemedimo Nwoko, Monday Uko, Linus Nkan, Okpulupum Etteh, Ephraim Inyaneyen, Barrister Ekong Sampson and Charles Udoh.

Others are Orman Esin, Iniobong Essien, Dr. Dominic Ukpong, Dr. Gloria Edet, Udo Ekpenyong, Uno Etim, Rapheal Bassey, Victor Bassey Inoka and Barrister Ukpong Akpabio.

Those confirmed as Special Advisers are Sunny Ibuot and Ekemini Umoh.

Meanwhile, three bills, namely a Bill to Eliminate Violence Against Victims in Private and Public Life; a Bill to Establish Akwa Ibom State School of Health Technology and a Bill to Establish the Akwa Ibom State Safety Commission, passed first reading at today’s sitting and were referred to the Committee on Business, Rules and Ethics, chaired by Barrister Otobong Bob, for rescheduling for a second reading.

The House is to embark on a two week recess and will resume on July 18th, 2019.


Reader's opinions

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Live Stream

Comfort 95.1 FM, Uyo

Current track